Programme Administration

Administrative organisation: VTT
Programme Director: Jari Hämäläinen, D.Sc. (Tech.) 
Project Coordinator: Vesa Suolanen, M.Sc. (Tech.)    

Management Board (Johtoryhmä)  
The Management Board (MB) is responsible for the programme as a whole and its results so that the programme meets the statutory requirements. The MB also decides on the project portfolio, monitors the implementation of the research programme and updates the Framework Plan for each call for proposals, if needed. The MB prepares a proposal for the Ministry of Economic Affairs and Employment (MEAE) on the projects for the next year, and the MEAE will prepare a statutory funding proposal to the Finnish State Nuclear Waste Management Fund (VYR) after receiving a statement from the Radiation and Nuclear Safety Authority (STUK).

Research area steering groups (Ohjausryhmät)
The research area steering groups are responsible for the content and results of the research programme in their respective fields; they prepare the calls for proposals for their fields, evaluate research project proposals and place the projects in the reference groups. The steering groups are responsible for monitoring the research projects in their fields and for reporting to the MB. They also rely on the competence of the reference groups when monitoring the progress of research in the projects and when otherwise necessary. The steering groups must ensure that the achieved results and realised costs of the projects are in line with the funding decisions. A steering group will approve changes in the project plan when they are substantial or require changes in budget. A steering group also approves the corresponding budget changes.
Steering Group SG1 - Overall safety and systemic approach to safety

Steering Group SG2 - Reactor safety

Steering Group SG3 - Structural safety and materials
Rakenteellinen turvallisuus ja materiaalit

Steering Group SG4 – Research infrastructure

Reference groups (Tukiryhmät)

The reference groups are responsible for the scientific and technological guidance of the research. They also decide on necessary changes in project plans concerning the research content as the work progresses when the changes do not require changes in the project budget or are not substantial. The members of the reference groups may evaluate the scientific level and content of the research project proposals upon request of the steering group of the research area.

RG1 - Overall safety and organisation (Kokonaisturvallisuus ja organisaatio)
RG2 - Plant level analysis (Laitostason arviointi)
RG3 - Reactor and fuel (Reaktori ja polttoaine)
RG4 - Thermal hydraulics (Termohydrauliikka)
RG5 - Mechanical integrity (Mekaaninen eheys)
RG6 - Structures and materials (Rakenteet ja materiaalit)
RG7 - Severe accidents (Vakavat onnettomuudet)
RG8 - Research infrastructure (Tutkimusinfrastruktuuri)



The members of the MB, SGs and RGs as well as the projects in the RGs can be found on the extranet.